THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO

DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GENERAL FACULTY

SUMMARY MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING of April 8, 2010

The regular monthly meeting of the Faculty Senate for the 2009-2010 academic year was held April 8, 2010, at 3:30 p.m. in the University Room (BB 2.06.04) with Dr. Carola Wenk, Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate representing Dr. Mansour El-Kikhia.

I. Call to order and taking of attendance

Present: Diane Abdo, Yoris Au, Manuel Berriozabal, Norma Cantu (Jim Dykes), William Cooke, Kim Cuero, Sara DeTurk, Beth Durodoye, Carol Dyas, Mary Ellen Garcia, Rhonda Gonzales, Robert Hard, Judith Haschenburger, Victor Heller, Amy Jasperson, Palani-Rajan Kadapakkam, Zlatko Koinov, Margarita Machado-Casas, Randy Manteufel, Mary McNaughton-Cassill, Jolyn Mikow, Elizabeth Murakami-Ramalho, Sharon Nichols, Sandy Norman, Anand Ramasubmaranian, Hazem Rashed-Ali, Cherylon Robinson, Johnelle Sparks, Raydel Tullous, Alistair Welchman, Carola Wenk, Bennie Wilson

Absent: Sos Agaian, Steve Bach, Ron Binks (excused), Mark Brill, Garry Cole (excused), Mansour El-Kikhia (excused), Lars Hansen, John McCray (excused), John Merrifield, J. Mitchell Miller, Darryl Ohlenbusch, Ben Olguin, Branco Ponomariov, Robert Rico (excused), Hatim Sharif, Ted Skekel

Guests: Ashley Diaz, Tom Coyle, Julius Gribou, Ken Pierce

Total members present:32Total members absent:17

II. Approval of the March 11, 2010 minutes

The minutes were approved.

III. Reports

A. Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate- Dr. Carola Wenk

Dr. Wenk announced that the SACS COC On-Site Committee debriefing went very well. The SACS report was solid with only three minor recommendations in two areas. The committee commended the university for its ambitious QEP, but it suggested that the assessment portion could be reduced. Dr. Wenk reported that no final decisions have been made concerning the awarding of merit; however, faculty should not expect a merit increase this year. The university may be able to offer a one-time merit award to eligible faculty, but the award would not increase the recipients' base salary. Senators expressed concern about the lack of information and transparency involving the budget and merit processes. Dr. Amy Jasperson made a motion to task the Faculty Senate Budget Committee with investigating the merit issue. The motion was approved.

Issues the Budget Committee will investigate include:

- What is the Faculty Senate's own position in terms of merit?
- How does the budget look overall?
- What are faculty preferences in relation to merit?
- What were the processes leading to the current decision regarding merit?
- B. Secretary of General Faculty- Dr. Sandy Norman

Dr. Norman reported that the University Assembly had not met since the last Faculty Senate meeting, but it will be meeting within the few weeks.

C. Evaluations, Merit, Rewards, and Workload Committee- Dr. William Cooke

Dr. Cooke provided a memorandum from the committee, which was charged with reviewing the merit policy and making recommendations concerning requirements of merit eligibility. The committee's discussion included identifying terms for merit, the time frame for merit evaluations, the cut-off points and numerical values, clear definitions of job responsibilities, and strategy for monetary calculations.

The committee memorandum stated: "This is a working document that represents discussions of the committee to date. Not all members agree with recommendations above; this memo is submitted to members of the Faculty Senate in order to stimulate additional debate."

D. Nominating, Elections, and Procedures Committee- Dr. Johnelle Sparks

Dr. Sparks reported that there were two nominations for Faculty Senate Chair; however, one nominee withdrew from consideration. Dr. Carola Wenk was then elected Chair of the Faculty Senate for a two-year term.

Dr. Sparks reported that there are two nominations for the Secretary of the General Faculty: Dr. Amy Jasperson (COLFA) and Dr. Leanne Alarid (COPP). She encouraged senators to stress to their faculty the importance of voting in this election.

E. HOP Committee- Dr. Cherylon Robinson

Dr. Robinson gave an unofficial report and asked the Faculty Senate to disregard the previous report. Issues involving the HOP will be discussed at the next Faculty Senate meeting.

F. Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee- Dr. Sara DeTurk

Dr. DeTurk reported on the PIP Policy that is not tied to the PPE Policy. Due to a lack of quorum, the issue will be addressed at the next meeting.

G. Academic Policy and Requirements Committee- Dr. Bennie Wilson

Due to the lack of quorum, Dr. Wilson's report was tabled until the next meeting.

H. Consent Calendar

The approval of the new slate of officers will be voted on electronically because there was no quorum.

IV. Unfinished Business

• BS in Biomedical Engineering

Executive Vice Provost Julius Gribou represented Provost John Frederick. Mr. Gribou explained the matter of funding for the proposal to create a BS degree in Biomedical Engineering. He stated that the program would not be funded to the detriment of any other program. Although he could not provide information on the account from which the funding will be taken, he said that the money will come from the reallocation of existing funds and that information will be provided to the Senate.

A motion was made to approve the BS in Biomedical Engineering: 24 in favor, 3 opposed and 1 abstained.

A motion was made that any proposal for new degree programs to be considered by the Senate should indicate how the program would be funded. A template should be used to provide a standard set of information for all proposed programs submitted for Senate consideration and approval.

Another motion was made for the Curriculum Committee to develop a standardized template for proposal information. The motion passed.

- V. New Business
 - Mr. Ken Pierce, Office of Information Technology (OIT)

Mr. Pierce announced the new Summer Splash 2010-12 campaign. The OIT projects will positively impact students, faculty and staff members. So far, 10 project charter documents have been created. The charters for the remaining projects are nearly complete.

All charter documents will be signed by the project's stakeholders - the project manager, sponsor, technical staff and steering committee. After the charters are signed, a project plan will be created. There will be faculty forums and 12 significant projects. On March 11th UTSA officials signed a charter for the online course evaluations. A Request for Proposals went out to select a vendor to provide the electronic support for the new course surveys. Proposals are due by April 26. Mr. Pierce stated that the all course sections would be evaluated electronically during the second five-week session and the ten-week session of summer 2010.

VI. Provost Report – Dr. John Frederick

The Provost was unable to attend.

VII. Open Forum

There was no discussion.

IX. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and unanimously passed at 5:45 pm.